Firstly…

by MT

It has been more than 3 years since I last wrote something on my proto-blog site of PChome in Taiwan. Looking back, I find most of those writings formal, rigid, and awkward, probably a reflection of my nature. Well, why not give it another try? This time I’ll do it in another language that might help me in shedding off those so-called “social-constructions,” or you could call it bent, habits, conventions, cultural elements, etc, though I doubt whether one is able to escape from his nature. (Now you see immediately a confusion between nature and culture. Well, that is the question of “what!”)

A much simpler reason for keeping a blog is to help organize the million threads of my comprehensive exam coming this December. I am a student of architectural history, but the scope of my exam includes a host of disciplines that will foster new ways of looking at the world we all share and, not least, help formulate the framework of my study and research projects. Intimidating as it may sound, it is more the complexity than the wealth of the materials that I have to confront and make sense of. Often time, formality, a prerequisite of professionalism, impedes the spontaneity and flexibility that is essential in complex works; and it is especially so in my case with the complication of my perfectionist bent. So I hope this blog will serve as a mediator between my everyday and academic selves, between the ordinary and the extraordinary worlds I live in. By constant writing I hope my study and research projects can be more malleable, and my friends and families can also understand my other world that is not readily available to them otherwise.

Hmm… it is getting serious again, but gladly this is probably about it for my introductory. Future posts might cover ideas, minds, arts, wars, but I am no less concerned with the grammatical and idiomatical problems of my English writing as well as the coming proficiency exam of the Japanese language! So if anyone would help me with these I will be very grateful.

Yesterday (as it is now in the U.S.) was the Fathers Day in Taiwan and I called my father to wish him happy. My son is still too young to understand what a Fathers Day is, but i believe he is happy as has been. Many places in the world are still in turmoil. Sitting in my quiet apartment living room, I wish everyone well and healthy.